Receiving a nurse aide certification in North Dakota involves completing several requirements. One should undergo training at a state-approved training program and pass the criminal background check as well as the state competency exam. This career in healthcare can be one of the best ways to enter the medical field. They allow personnel to rise in higher ranks without having to spend a lot of money to gain exposure to the field. The demand for this type of job has increased due to the higher pay rates of nurses.
The first step into acquiring a certification is by enrolling yourself in a state-approved facility which offers training. The state requires about 75 hours of training which shall have an additional 16 hours of clinical practice in a healthcare setting. Those who are already employed in a healthcare setting can take their training for free. They would only need an additional 16 hours of classroom lecture to their actual training. The training covers various subjects such as basic care, mental health, infection control, emergency procedures and communication skills.
After finishing the training program, one can now apply for the state examinations. The test includes both an oral or written exam as well as a demonstration of skills. One is allowed to take the exam three times and if he still fails the last try, he would be required to retake the training. The results of the exam will be published within 30 days from the taking of the test.
One should submit documents such as a completed application form, copy of the certificate of completing the training program, social security card, fingerprint cards and the necessary fees for taking the test. He should also submit to a state and federal background check and should not be convicted in any of the disqualifying crimes prescribed by law. He should also pass the TB test as well as other immunizations that are required for those who would like to work as nurse aides.
The state offers reciprocity for those who have already passed the certification examinations in another state. One should be in current good standing in that state and should pass the criminal background check of that state. He or she should not be guilty of abuse or neglect of a resident and should be currently listed on that state’s registry.
The license is renewed every 2 years from the date of the test. The expiration of the date will vary with those who have gained reciprocity who will have the date two days from date the reciprocity was issued. The ND Nurse Aide Registry mails out renewal forms at least 4 months before the date of license’s expiration. The state does not charge a renewal fee for applicants.
One should have at least worked for 8 hours as a nurse aide with pay for the past 24 months and should have at least 12 hours of in-service training for each year that passed. Those who have had their license lapsed in their expiry date will have to contact the board about reinstating their licenses. For more information about nursing assistant classes in North Dakota visit this link.